I have a bicycle and I ride and I ride…

When I was 10, my friends invited me to go for a cycle ride with them. Unfortunately I was ‘bikeless’ that time and felt pretty sad. My parents couldn’t afford a bike, so my friend’s parents took compassion on me and gave me their old iron horse for a while. The bike was beyond my wildest dreams. I start training hard on the sand near the stadium to prevent bruises from falls. Two days later I was pretty ready to go on highway, and that was amazing. I do remember me coming back from that first great trip and telling my parents about that.

Thirty years quickly passed, I became a mother, but I still didn’t get my own bicycle. My kids have their own high-speed bikes. A week ago they lured me for a walk. And just imagine: a new great cycle was waiting for me in our garage. Hooray! My dream finally came true. Awesome! Except one thing: I can’t ride, as my first trip was the last that time.

But my desire to ride was much stronger than my fear. Under slightly sarcastic looks of my children I tried to start moving. “Come on, mom, step on pedals!”, that’s what I heard. My first tries were hilarious, I guess. It was awkward zig-zags and several clumsy jumpings off. I wanted to cry out I couldn’t do it, but remembered circus bears. Even they can ride a bike! I told myself I had to do it, took another few deep breaths and let my body do what it has already learned to do many years ago. And it worked! I felt warm wind in my hair and sun beams on my face, and meter by meter I was more confident. I managed to override that iron monster!

So, if someone tells you that you can’t do it, don’t listen to him! You can do everything! This is just one step in the unknown world. The world, which is open to you!

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I have a bicycle and I ride and I ride…

  1. Bill Chance says:

    What a nice story. there is no greater feeling of freedom than on a bike.

    thanks for sharing.

  2. Wonderful site. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few friends ans also sharing
    in delicious. And naturally, thank you on your effort!

Leave a Reply

